# Fromly vs Mailchimp

Mailchimp is the broader marketing suite: templates, forms, landing pages, A/B tests, SMS and over 300 integrations. Fromly is narrower and built for SaaS: it reads your Supabase users and Stripe billing, and charges per email sent instead of per contact stored.

Web page: https://fromly.io/compare/fromly-vs-mailchimp

## At a glance

| | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Best for | SaaS teams on Supabase and Stripe who want emails driven by product data. | Marketing teams and small businesses who want a familiar all-round tool. |
| Pricing | Your first 1,000 emails are free. After that, every email costs $0.001, prepaid. Unlimited contacts. | Priced by contacts, with a send limit |
| Starts at | Free, then $0.001 per email | $13/mo for 500 contacts |

## Price per month

Mailchimp charges by the number of contacts (Standard plan), Fromly by emails sent. Monthly cost if each contact gets 4 emails a month:

| Contacts | Emails per month | Fromly | Mailchimp (Standard) |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| 1,000 | 4,000 | $4 | $45 |
| 5,000 | 20,000 | $20 | $100 |
| 10,000 | 40,000 | $40 | $135 |
| 25,000 | 100,000 | $100 | $310 |
| 50,000 | 200,000 | $200 | $450 |

- Free for up to 250 contacts and 500 emails a month (250 a day), with one seat.
- Paid plans start at $13 a month on Essentials and $20 a month on Standard, both for 500 contacts, and at $350 a month on Premium for 10,000 contacts. The price rises with your contact count.
- Each plan caps monthly sends at a multiple of your contact count: 10 times on Essentials, 12 times on Standard, 15 times on Premium. Going over the contact or send limit is billed as an overage.
- A contact in more than one audience counts once per audience. Transactional email and SMS are paid add-ons, and a pay-as-you-go credit plan exists for infrequent senders.

## Features

### Pricing

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Billed on emails sent, not contacts | Yes ($0.001 per email on the paid plan.) | Partly (Monthly plans are priced by contacts; email credits are sold separately for infrequent senders.) |
| Unlimited contacts | Yes | No |
| Free plan | Partly (1,000 free emails at sign-up, no credit card.) | Yes (250 contacts, 500 sends a month.) |

### Sending

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Campaigns to a filtered audience | Yes (Filter by tags, plan, MRR or custom properties.) | Yes (Segments by tags, behavior and purchase history.) |
| Scheduled and spread-out sends | Yes | Yes (Paid plans, with send time optimization.) |
| A/B testing | No | Yes (Paid plans; multivariate tests on Premium.) |
| Transactional email API | Yes (Templates with variables and idempotency keys.) | Yes (A separate paid add-on (formerly Mandrill).) |
| Attachments | No | Not stated |

### Automations

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Visual automation builder | Yes | Yes (Paid plans; Essentials is limited to 4 steps per flow.) |
| Triggered by product and billing events | Yes (Sign-ups, Stripe events, tags and custom events from the API.) | Partly (Flows react to customer behavior such as purchases from a connected store.) |
| Conditions and branches | Yes | Yes (Standard and Premium.) |
| Wait until an event happens | No | Not stated |

### Data and integrations

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Supabase | Yes (Connected in one click: new sign-ups arrive in real time, plus an hourly sync.) | Not stated |
| Stripe | Yes (MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, as tags you can target.) | Not stated |
| Other billing tools (Paddle, Lemon Squeezy…) | No | Not stated |
| Zapier or n8n | No | Yes |
| CSV import | Yes | Not stated |
| Signup forms and landing pages | No | Yes (Forms and landing pages, free plan included.) |

### Developers

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| REST API | Yes (Scoped API keys for contacts, events, emails, campaigns and flows.) | Not stated |
| MCP server for AI agents | Yes | Not stated |
| Official SDK | Partly (Built, not yet published on npm.) | Not stated |
| Outgoing webhooks | No | Yes (Documented for the transactional add-on.) |

### Deliverability

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Your own domain with SPF, DKIM and DMARC | Yes | Not stated |
| One-click unsubscribe (Gmail and Yahoo rules) | Yes | Not stated |
| Campaigns pause on high bounce rates | Yes | Not stated |
| Reputation kept apart from other customers | Yes (Each workspace sends under its own reputation.) | Not stated |
| Dedicated IP | No | Not stated |

### Analytics and team

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Opens, clicks and bounces per contact | Yes | Yes |
| Revenue attribution | No | Yes (For connected online stores.) |
| Team members | Partly (Roles exist; inviting teammates is coming.) | Yes (1 seat free, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Standard, unlimited on Premium.) |

### Other channels

| Feature | Fromly | Mailchimp |
| --- | --- | --- |
| SMS | No | Yes (Add-on in select countries, paid plans.) |
| Shared inbox for replies | No | Not stated |

## Choose Mailchimp if

- You want a large template library, forms and landing pages in the same tool
- You need A/B or multivariate testing, SMS or an integration with a store like Shopify
- Your team already knows Mailchimp and you want onboarding help
- You send rarely to a small list and the free plan or email credits cover you

## Choose Fromly if

- Your users live in Supabase and you want new sign-ups to arrive on their own
- You want Stripe MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, ready to target
- You keep many users who rarely get an email and do not want to pay for each of them
- You want marketing and transactional email in one tool, without a separate add-on

## Switching from Mailchimp to Fromly

1. Export your audience from Mailchimp as a CSV file, including unsubscribed contacts.
2. Import it in Fromly, mapping columns to tags and custom properties as you go.
3. Keep unsubscribed contacts unsubscribed: import them with that status or leave them out.
4. Connect Supabase and Stripe so new users and billing changes keep flowing in.
5. Verify your sending domain (SPF, DKIM and DMARC), then rebuild your flows around product and billing events.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is Fromly cheaper than Mailchimp?

It depends on how often you email your list, because the two bill differently. Mailchimp charges by contacts: Standard starts at $20 a month for 500 contacts and up to 6,000 emails. Fromly charges $0.001 per email with unlimited contacts, so 6,000 emails cost $6. A large list you email rarely costs less on Fromly.

### Which free plan is bigger?

Mailchimp's, for a small list that sends a little every month: 250 contacts and 500 emails a month, for good. Fromly offers 1,000 emails once at sign-up, with unlimited contacts, then charges $0.001 per email.

### Does Fromly have everything Mailchimp has?

No. Mailchimp includes a template library, signup forms, landing pages, A/B testing, SMS and over 300 integrations, which Fromly does not have today. Fromly focuses on Supabase and Stripe data, behavior-based automations and transactional email.

### Do I pay for contacts I never email?

On Mailchimp, yes: the price follows your contact count, and a contact in two audiences counts twice. On Fromly, contacts are unlimited and only the emails you send are billed.

### Can I move my list from Mailchimp to Fromly?

Yes. Export your audience as a CSV from Mailchimp and import the file in Fromly, mapping columns to tags and properties. Unsubscribed contacts should stay unsubscribed: import them with that status or leave them out.

## Sources

Mailchimp information checked on 2026-10-10, from: [Pricing](https://mailchimp.com/pricing/marketing/), [Features](https://mailchimp.com/features/). Fromly's information comes from its own product.
