# Fromly vs Plunk

Plunk and Fromly charge the same $0.001 per email, Plunk keeps 1,000 free emails every month where Fromly offers them once at sign-up, and Plunk adds open source, self-hosting, inbound email and published SDKs. Fromly is built around your Supabase users and Stripe billing, which arrive on their own instead of being sent from your code.

Web page: https://fromly.io/compare/fromly-vs-plunk

## At a glance

| | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Best for | SaaS teams on Supabase and Stripe who want emails driven by product data. | Developers who want open source, or to host their email platform themselves. |
| Pricing | Your first 1,000 emails are free. After that, every email costs $0.001, prepaid. Unlimited contacts. | $0.001 per email, free plan up to 1,000 |
| Starts at | Free, then $0.001 per email | Free, then $0.001 per email |

## Price per month

| Emails per month | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| 1,000 | $1 | $0 |
| 10,000 | $10 | $10 |
| 50,000 | $50 | $50 |
| 100,000 | $100 | $100 |
| 500,000 | $500 | $500 |

- Free up to 1,000 emails a month, with Plunk branding on every email.
- The paid plan costs $0.001 per email, removes the branding and lets you set a monthly spend cap.
- Contacts are unlimited on both plans, and every feature is on every plan.
- Self-hosting is free: the code is open source and runs with Docker Compose.

## Features

### Pricing

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Billed on emails sent, not contacts | Yes ($0.001 per email on the paid plan.) | Yes ($0.001 per email on the paid plan.) |
| Unlimited contacts | Yes | Yes |
| Free plan | Partly (1,000 free emails at sign-up, no credit card.) | Yes (1,000 emails a month, with Plunk branding.) |

### Sending

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Campaigns to a filtered audience | Yes (Filter by tags, plan, MRR or custom properties.) | Yes (To the full list or a segment.) |
| Scheduled and spread-out sends | Yes | Yes |
| A/B testing | No | Not stated |
| Transactional email API | Yes (Templates with variables and idempotency keys.) | Yes (API and SMTP.) |
| Attachments | No | Not stated |

### Automations

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Visual automation builder | Yes | Yes |
| Triggered by product and billing events | Yes (Sign-ups, Stripe events, tags and custom events from the API.) | Yes (Any event your code sends.) |
| Conditions and branches | Yes | Yes |
| Wait until an event happens | No | Not stated |

### Data and integrations

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Supabase | Yes (Connected in one click: new sign-ups arrive in real time, plus an hourly sync.) | Not stated |
| Stripe | Yes (MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, as tags you can target.) | Not stated |
| Other billing tools (Paddle, Lemon Squeezy…) | No | Not stated |
| Zapier or n8n | No | Not stated |
| CSV import | Yes | Not stated |
| Signup forms and landing pages | No | Not stated |

### Developers

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| REST API | Yes (Scoped API keys for contacts, events, emails, campaigns and flows.) | Yes |
| MCP server for AI agents | Yes | Yes (Twenty-three tools, with a read-only mode.) |
| Official SDK | Partly (Built, not yet published on npm.) | Yes (Node.js, Python and more.) |
| Outgoing webhooks | No | Not stated |

### Deliverability

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Your own domain with SPF, DKIM and DMARC | Yes | Yes (DKIM, SPF and DMARC set up automatically.) |
| One-click unsubscribe (Gmail and Yahoo rules) | Yes | Not stated |
| Campaigns pause on high bounce rates | Yes | Not stated |
| Reputation kept apart from other customers | Yes (Each workspace sends under its own reputation.) | Not stated |
| Dedicated IP | No | Not stated |

### Analytics and team

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Opens, clicks and bounces per contact | Yes | Yes (Opens, clicks, bounces and unsubscribes.) |
| Revenue attribution | No | Not stated |
| Team members | Partly (Roles exist; inviting teammates is coming.) | Not stated |

### Other channels

| Feature | Fromly | Plunk |
| --- | --- | --- |
| SMS | No | Not stated |
| Shared inbox for replies | No | Partly (Inbound email delivered to your app as a webhook.) |

## Choose Plunk if

- You want open source code you can read, fork or host on your own servers
- You want to receive email on your domain and get replies as webhooks
- You want an official Node SDK or SMTP for an existing app today
- You would rather send every event from your own code than connect a database

## Choose Fromly if

- Your users live in Supabase and you want new sign-ups to arrive on their own, without setting up webhooks
- You want Stripe MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, ready to target
- You want campaigns to pause on their own when bounces climb, with each workspace sending under its own reputation
- You want a smaller tool you can set up in an afternoon

## Switching from Plunk to Fromly

1. Export your contacts from Plunk.
2. Import them in Fromly as a CSV file: map columns to tags and custom properties as you go.
3. Connect Supabase and Stripe so new users and billing changes keep flowing in.
4. Verify your sending domain (SPF, DKIM and DMARC), then rebuild your workflows as Fromly flows.
5. Point your transactional calls and custom events at the Fromly API.

## Frequently asked questions

### Is Fromly cheaper than Plunk?

No. Both charge $0.001 per email on the paid plan, so 10,000 emails cost $10 and 100,000 cost $100 on either, but Plunk's free plan gives 1,000 emails every month where Fromly offers 1,000 once at sign-up. Both have unlimited contacts. Plunk puts its branding on free emails.

### Which one is open source?

Plunk. It is licensed under AGPL-3.0 and can be self-hosted with Docker Compose, with no per-email cost. Fromly is a hosted service.

### Does Plunk connect to Supabase and Stripe?

Plunk's pages do not mention a built-in Supabase or Stripe connection: its workflows start from events your code sends. Fromly connects to Supabase in one click, receives new sign-ups in real time with an hourly sync as a safety net, and puts Stripe MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact.

### Do both work with AI agents?

Yes. Plunk has an MCP server with twenty-three tools and a read-only mode. Fromly also has an MCP server, so agents like Claude or Cursor can manage contacts, emails, campaigns and flows.

### Can I move from Plunk to Fromly?

Yes. Export your contacts from Plunk and import the file in Fromly, mapping columns to tags and properties. Unsubscribed contacts should stay unsubscribed: import them with that status or leave them out. Then rebuild your workflows and point your API calls at Fromly.

## Sources

Plunk information checked on 2026-10-10, from: [Pricing](https://www.useplunk.com/pricing), [Home](https://www.useplunk.com). Fromly's information comes from its own product.
