Fromly vs Mailchimp
Mailchimp is the broader marketing suite: templates, forms, landing pages, A/B tests, SMS and over 300 integrations. Fromly is narrower and built for SaaS: it reads your Supabase users and Stripe billing, and charges per email sent instead of per contact stored.
At a glance
| Fromly | ||
|---|---|---|
| Best for | SaaS teams on Supabase and Stripe who want emails driven by product data. | Marketing teams and small businesses who want a familiar all-round tool. |
| Pricing | $0.001 per email, first 1,000 free | Priced by contacts, with a send limit |
| Starts at | Free, then $0.001 per email | $13/mo for 500 contacts |
| Contacts | Unlimited | Counted in the price |
Fromly vs Mailchimp pricing
Pick your list size and how often you email it to see both bills. Mailchimp's prices are the ones on its pricing page on October 10, 2026.
5,000 contacts × 4 emails= 20,000 emails a month
Fromly
20,000 emails at $0.001 each
$20
per month
Mailchimp
Standard plan, 5,000 contacts
$100
per month
Fromly costs $80 less at this volume.
How Fromly charges
- Your first 1,000 emails are free. After that, every email costs $0.001, prepaid. Unlimited contacts.
How Mailchimp charges
- Free for up to 250 contacts and 500 emails a month (250 a day), with one seat.
- Paid plans start at $13 a month on Essentials and $20 a month on Standard, both for 500 contacts, and at $350 a month on Premium for 10,000 contacts. The price rises with your contact count.
- Each plan caps monthly sends at a multiple of your contact count: 10 times on Essentials, 12 times on Standard, 15 times on Premium. Going over the contact or send limit is billed as an overage.
- A contact in more than one audience counts once per audience. Transactional email and SMS are paid add-ons, and a pay-as-you-go credit plan exists for infrequent senders.
Features compared
What each tool includes today. "Not stated" means Mailchimp's pages do not say, not that it is missing.
Pricing
- Billed on emails sent, not contacts$0.001 per email on the paid plan.Monthly plans are priced by contacts; email credits are sold separately for infrequent senders.
- Unlimited contactsYesNo
- Free plan1,000 free emails at sign-up, no credit card.250 contacts, 500 sends a month.
Sending
- Campaigns to a filtered audienceFilter by tags, plan, MRR or custom properties.Segments by tags, behavior and purchase history.
- Scheduled and spread-out sendsYesPaid plans, with send time optimization.
- A/B testingNoPaid plans; multivariate tests on Premium.
- Transactional email APITemplates with variables and idempotency keys.A separate paid add-on (formerly Mandrill).
- AttachmentsNoNot stated
Automations
- Visual automation builderYesPaid plans; Essentials is limited to 4 steps per flow.
- Triggered by product and billing eventsSign-ups, Stripe events, tags and custom events from the API.Flows react to customer behavior such as purchases from a connected store.
- Conditions and branchesYesStandard and Premium.
- Wait until an event happensNoNot stated
Data and integrations
- SupabaseConnected in one click: new sign-ups arrive in real time, plus an hourly sync.Not stated
- StripeMRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, as tags you can target.Not stated
- Other billing tools (Paddle, Lemon Squeezy…)NoNot stated
- Zapier or n8nNoYes
- CSV importYesNot stated
- Signup forms and landing pagesNoForms and landing pages, free plan included.
Developers
- REST APIScoped API keys for contacts, events, emails, campaigns and flows.Not stated
- MCP server for AI agentsYesNot stated
- Official SDKBuilt, not yet published on npm.Not stated
- Outgoing webhooksNoDocumented for the transactional add-on.
Deliverability
- Your own domain with SPF, DKIM and DMARCYesNot stated
- One-click unsubscribe (Gmail and Yahoo rules)YesNot stated
- Campaigns pause on high bounce ratesYesNot stated
- Reputation kept apart from other customersEach workspace sends under its own reputation.Not stated
- Dedicated IPNoNot stated
Analytics and team
- Opens, clicks and bounces per contactYesYes
- Revenue attributionNoFor connected online stores.
- Team membersRoles exist; inviting teammates is coming.1 seat free, 3 on Essentials, 5 on Standard, unlimited on Premium.
Other channels
- SMSNoAdd-on in select countries, paid plans.
- Shared inbox for repliesNoNot stated
Fromly or Mailchimp: which one should you choose?
Choose Mailchimp if
- You want a large template library, forms and landing pages in the same tool
- You need A/B or multivariate testing, SMS or an integration with a store like Shopify
- Your team already knows Mailchimp and you want onboarding help
- You send rarely to a small list and the free plan or email credits cover you
Choose Fromly if
- Your users live in Supabase and you want new sign-ups to arrive on their own
- You want Stripe MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, ready to target
- You keep many users who rarely get an email and do not want to pay for each of them
- You want marketing and transactional email in one tool, without a separate add-on
How to switch from Mailchimp to Fromly
- 1Export your audience from Mailchimp as a CSV file, including unsubscribed contacts.
- 2Import it in Fromly, mapping columns to tags and custom properties as you go.
- 3Keep unsubscribed contacts unsubscribed: import them with that status or leave them out.
- 4Connect Supabase and Stripe so new users and billing changes keep flowing in.
- 5Verify your sending domain (SPF, DKIM and DMARC), then rebuild your flows around product and billing events.
Mailchimp checked on October 10, 2026 from pricing, features. Prices change: check the vendor's page before deciding.
FAQ
Fromly vs Mailchimp: questions, answered
Is Fromly cheaper than Mailchimp?
Which free plan is bigger?
Does Fromly have everything Mailchimp has?
Do I pay for contacts I never email?
Can I move my list from Mailchimp to Fromly?
Turn your signups into customers with email
Connect Supabase and Stripe, let your agent draft your first flow, and send your first 1,000 emails for free.