Fromly vs Mailgun
Mailgun is sending infrastructure for developers: a fast API and SMTP relay, validation, inbound routing and dedicated IPs, cheaper than Fromly from 50,000 emails a month. Fromly is the marketing layer for a SaaS: campaigns, automations and a transactional API, fed by your Supabase users and Stripe billing, with no code to write for the audience.
At a glance
| Fromly | ||
|---|---|---|
| Best for | SaaS teams on Supabase and Stripe who want emails driven by product data. | Engineering teams sending large volumes of transactional email. |
| Pricing | $0.001 per email, first 1,000 free | Plans by volume, 100 emails a day free |
| Starts at | Free, then $0.001 per email | $15/mo for 10,000 emails |
| Contacts | Unlimited | Counted in the price |
Fromly vs Mailgun pricing
Pick a monthly volume to see both bills. Mailgun's prices are the ones on its pricing page on October 10, 2026.
Fromly
$0.001 per email, first 1,000 free
$10
per month
Mailgun
Plans by volume, 100 emails a day free
$15
per month
Fromly costs $5 less at this volume.
How Fromly charges
- Your first 1,000 emails are free. After that, every email costs $0.001, prepaid. Unlimited contacts.
How Mailgun charges
- Free: 100 emails a day, one sending domain and one user.
- Basic is $15 a month for 10,000 emails, Foundation $35 for 50,000 and Scale $90 for 100,000. Foundation and Scale are free for the first month.
- Extra emails cost from $1.80 per 1,000 on Basic, $1.30 on Foundation and $1.10 on Scale. The page gives no firm price for 500,000 emails: on Scale it would be at least $530, and larger volumes go through sales.
- Dedicated IPs: one included from 100,000 emails, otherwise $59 per IP per month. Email validation is billed separately.
Features compared
What each tool includes today. "Not stated" means Mailgun's pages do not say, not that it is missing.
Pricing
- Billed on emails sent, not contacts$0.001 per email on the paid plan.Plans by monthly email volume, with overage.
- Unlimited contactsYesNot stated
- Free plan1,000 free emails at sign-up, no credit card.100 emails a day.
Sending
- Campaigns to a filtered audienceFilter by tags, plan, MRR or custom properties.Mailing lists through the API; the page says there is no send button.
- Scheduled and spread-out sendsYesSend time optimization on Scale.
- A/B testingNoNot stated
- Transactional email APITemplates with variables and idempotency keys.API and SMTP relay.
- AttachmentsNoNot stated
Automations
- Visual automation builderYesNot stated
- Triggered by product and billing eventsSign-ups, Stripe events, tags and custom events from the API.Not stated
- Conditions and branchesYesNot stated
- Wait until an event happensNoNot stated
Data and integrations
- SupabaseConnected in one click: new sign-ups arrive in real time, plus an hourly sync.Not stated
- StripeMRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, as tags you can target.Not stated
- Other billing tools (Paddle, Lemon Squeezy…)NoNot stated
- Zapier or n8nNoNot stated
- CSV importYesNot stated
- Signup forms and landing pagesNoNot stated
Developers
- REST APIScoped API keys for contacts, events, emails, campaigns and flows.Yes
- MCP server for AI agentsYesNot stated
- Official SDKBuilt, not yet published on npm.Yes
- Outgoing webhooksNoYes
Deliverability
- Your own domain with SPF, DKIM and DMARCYesSPF, DKIM, DMARC and BIMI. One domain on Free and Basic, 1,000 from Foundation.
- One-click unsubscribe (Gmail and Yahoo rules)YesNot stated
- Campaigns pause on high bounce ratesYesNot stated
- Reputation kept apart from other customersEach workspace sends under its own reputation.Shared IPs by default; dedicated IPs and subaccounts available.
- Dedicated IPNoIncluded from 100,000 emails, or $59 per IP per month.
Analytics and team
- Opens, clicks and bounces per contactYesOpens, clicks and bounce classification.
- Revenue attributionNoNot stated
- Team membersRoles exist; inviting teammates is coming.Unlimited users from Foundation; one user on Free.
Other channels
- SMSNoNot stated
- Shared inbox for repliesNoNot stated
Fromly or Mailgun: which one should you choose?
Choose Mailgun if
- You only need to send email from code, at high volume
- You want dedicated IPs, US or EU data hosting and an uptime SLA
- You need email validation or inbound routing for replies
- You send 50,000 emails a month or more and want the lower price
Choose Fromly if
- You want campaigns and automations built in, not only an API
- Your users live in Supabase and you want sign-ups to arrive without code
- You want Stripe MRR, plan and lifecycle on every contact, ready to target
- You send under 50,000 emails a month: 10,000 cost $10 on Fromly against $15 on Mailgun
How to switch from Mailgun to Fromly
- 1Export your suppressions and unsubscribes from Mailgun so they stay respected.
- 2Import your contacts in Fromly from a CSV, or connect Supabase to bring in your users.
- 3Connect Stripe so plans and billing changes appear on every contact.
- 4Verify your sending domain in Fromly (SPF, DKIM and DMARC).
- 5Point your transactional calls at the Fromly API and rebuild recurring sends as automations.
Mailgun checked on October 10, 2026 from pricing, home. Prices change: check the vendor's page before deciding.
FAQ
Fromly vs Mailgun: questions, answered
Is Fromly cheaper than Mailgun?
Can Mailgun send marketing campaigns?
Does Fromly offer dedicated IPs like Mailgun?
Can I use Mailgun and Fromly together?
Which free plan is bigger?
Turn your signups into customers with email
Connect Supabase and Stripe, let your agent draft your first flow, and send your first 1,000 emails for free.